Faculty and Staff


Chair and Staff
 

Beauty Bragg
Beauty Bragg
Interim Chair and Professor
Ph.D, English, University of Texas
3-05 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5574
beauty.bragg@gcsu.edu
Dr. Beauty Bragg earned her Ph.D. in English at the University of Texas.  She teaches courses on America's diverse cultural heritage, introduction to Black Studies, black women artists, Alice Walker, and the Harlem Renaissance.

 

Melinda Martin
Melinda Martin
Administrative Assistant
3-03 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-4581
melinda.martin@gcsu.edu

 

Laura Caron
Laura Caron
M.F.A Administrative Assistant
3-29 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3509
laura.caron@gcsu.edu

 

Faculty

Photo Unavailable
Nancy Beasley
Assistant Professor
M.A., English Education, Georgia College & State University
3-14 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-0518
nancy.beasley@gcsu.edu
Professor Nancy Beasley earned her M.A. in English Education from Georgia College & State University.  She teaches composition, world literature and utopian/dystopian worlds.

 

Alex E. Blazer
Alex Blazer
Associate Professor
Ph.D, English, The Ohio State University
3-30 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-0964
alex.blazer@gcsu.edu
alexeblazer.com
Dr. Alex E. Blazer, Coordinator of the Undergraduate Literature Program, specializes in twentieth- and twenty-first century American literature and critical theory.  His publications include I Am Otherwise: The Romance between Poetry and Theory after the Death of the Subject; articles on contemporary American authors Paul Auster, Bret Easton Ellis, and Chuck Palahniuk; and an article on the cult film Donnie Darko.  He teaches modern and contemporary American literature, film, poetry, critical theory survey, focused studies in literary criticism (existentialism and phenomenology, reader-response criticism, Marxist criticism, psychoanalytic film theory), global horror film, and science fiction and philosophy.

 

Craig Callender
Craig Callender
Associate Professor
Ph.D, Linguistics, University of South Carolina
3-17 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3178
craig.callender@gcsu.edu
Dr. Craig Callender is a historical linguist and phonologist who works on Germanic languages, including English. He regularly teaches History of the English Language, Medieval English Literature (Middle English), Human Language, Structure of Present-Day English, and World Literature. His research is primarily on the evolution of sound systems in Germanic languages, where he is interested in how comparative dialectology can aid in the reconstruction of historical processes. He also co-directs the European Council Summer Study-Abroad Program in Berlin, and is always happy to discuss study abroad (in Berlin and elsewhere) with interested students.

 

Jennifer Flaherty
Jennifer Flaherty
Associate Professor
Ph.D, English, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
3-22 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3180
jennifer.flaherty@gcsu.edu
Dr. Jennifer Flaherty received her Ph.D. in Comparative Literature from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She is an Associate Professor of Shakespeare studies, and her research emphasizes appropriation and global Shakespeare. Her work has been published in journals such as Borrowers and Lenders, Comparative Drama, Interdisciplinary Literary Studies, and Topic. She has also contributed chapters to the volumes The Horse as Cultural Icon and Shakespeare and Millennial Fiction. Dr. Flaherty regularly teaches courses in Renaissance literature, dramatic literature, film studies, adaptation, Milton, and Shakespeare for the Literature program. She also teaches courses for Women's Studies, GC1Y and GC2Y, and the Georgia College Honors Program.

 

Allen Gee
Allen Gee
Professor
Ph.D, English Literature and Creative Writing, University of Houston
3-23 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3181
allen.gee@gcsu.edu
Dr. Allen Gee received his M.F.A. from the Iowa Writers Workshop, and his Ph.D. from the University of Houston.  He is the author of My Chinese-America and is working on At Little Monticello, a biography of Pulitzer winner James Alan McPherson.

 

Bruce Gentry
Bruce Gentry
Professor
Ph.D, English, University of Texas
3-67 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-6928
bruce.gentry@gcsu.edu
Dr. Bruce Gentry, Editor of the Flannery O’Connor Review, received GC’s Excellence in Scholarship award in 2013. He is the author of Flannery O'Connor's Religion of the Grotesque, editor of The Cartoons of Flannery O'Connor at Georgia College, and co-editor of the oral history At Home with Flannery O'Connor. Gentry twice served as co-director for NEH Summer Institutes on O'Connor. Gentry has also hosted four O'Connor conferences in Milledgeville. Other publications by Gentry include Conversations with Raymond Carver and articles on Doctorow, Roth, and Carver in Contemporary Literature, South Atlantic Review, The CEA Critic, and South Carolina Review.

 

Hali Sofala-Jones
Hali Sofala-Jones
Lecturer
Ph.D,, English Literature and Creative Writing, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
3-08 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5554
hali.sofala-jones@gcsu.edu
Dr. Hali Sofala-Jones earned her Ph.D. in English Literature and Creative Writing from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She teaches composition, world literature, and contemporary black women writers.

 

Julian Knox
Julian Knox
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., English, University of California, Los Angeles
3-04 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-8687
julian.knox@gcsu.edu
Dr. Julian Knox earned his Ph.D. in English from the University of California, Los Angeles. His teaching and research interests include British and World Romanticism, literature and visual culture, Romanticism and popular music, theories and practices of translation, life-writing, and philosophies of time. He has published articles in the journals European Romantic Review, The Wordsworth Circle, The Coleridge Bulletin, Grave Notes, and The New German Review, and has contributed chapters to The Oxford Handbook of Samuel Taylor Coleridge and Transnational England: Home and Abroad, 1780-1860. His latest article, "Ashes Against the Grain: Black Metal and the Grim Rebirth of Romanticism," is forthcoming in the two-volume collection Rock and Romanticism.

 

Martin Lammon
Martin Lammon
Professor
Fuller E. Callaway/Flannery O'Connor Chair in Creative Writing
Ph.D, English, Ohio University
3-19 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3508
martin.lammon@gcsu.edu
Dr. Martin Lammon is the author of the poetry collection News from Where I Live (University of Arkansas Press), and his poems have been published in many of the nation’s most distinguished journals, including Gettysburg Review, Ploughshares, The Southern Review, and many more. In 1997, Pulitzer Prize poet W.S. Merwin selected three of Lammon’s poems, published in Nimrod, for a Pablo Neruda Prize. In addition to poetry, Lammon has published essays about living in Costa Rica that have appeared in The Iowa Review, The Chattahoochee Review, and Zone 3. Since 1997, he has held the Fuller E. Callaway endowed Flannery O’Connor Chair in Creative Writing at Georgia College in Milledgeville, where he founded the national literary journal Arts & Letters and also the nationally recognized Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing graduate program.

 

Jeffrey H. MacLachlan
Jeffrey H. MacLachlan
Lecturer
M.F.A, Fiction, Chatham University
3-09 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5571
jeffrey.maclachlan@gcsu.edu
Mr. Jeffrey MacLachlan earned an M.F.A. in Fiction from Chatham University. His work has recently been published in New Ohio Review, Eleven Eleven, and Minetta Review, among others.  He teaches composition, world literature, and war literature.

 

Mary Magoulick
Mary Magoulick
Professor
Ph.D, Folklore, Indiana University
3-21 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3177
mary.magoulick@gcsu.edu
faculty.gcsu.edu/custom-website/mary-magoulick/
Dr. Mary Magoulick teaches women’s studies, Native American literature, folklore, myth, and popular culture, all with multicultural focus. She writes on the interrelationships between literature/texts and culture and has published in major folklore and popular culture journals. She is currently engaged in a book project offering a feminist critique of Goddess Culture (especially as it manifests in popular culture – e.g. Wonder Woman). She enjoys traveling (over 30 countries so far) and contemplating cross-cultural connections and culturally-based approaches to studying human artistic expressions. She has done fieldwork with Native Americans, served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Senegal, studied in France, taught in Sweden, Italy, England, Ireland, for Semester at Sea, and in Croatia, the last on a Fulbright.

 

Kerry Neville
Kerry Neville
Assistant Professor
Ph.D, Creative Writing, University of Houston
3-25 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-4018
kerry.neville@gcsu.edu
Dr. Kerry B. Neville is Assistant Professor of English in Fiction and Nonfiction Writing.  She is the author of Remember To Forget Me and Necessary Lies.  Her fiction and essays appear in journals, including The Gettysburg Review, Epoch, and Glimmer Train.  She writes for online publications, including The Huffington Post, Dame, The Fix, and The Establishment.  She is the recipient of The Dallas Museum of Art's Fiction Prize and the Texas Institute of Letters Prize for the Short Story.  She is Fiction Editor of Arts & Letters and also is faculty for The University of Limerick/Frank McCourt International Writing program.

 

Laura Newbern
Laura Newbern
Associate Professor
M.F.A, Creative Writing, Warren Wilson College
3-28 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-0963
laura.newbern@gcsu.edu
Professor Laura Newbern earned an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Warren Wilson College. She teaches intermediate poetry writing, poetry workshop, and creative writing senior seminar.

 

Eustace Palmer
Eustace Palmer
Professor
Ph.D, English, University of Edinburgh
3-06 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5557
eustace.palmer@gcsu.edu
Dr. Eustace Palmer earned his Ph.D. in English from the University of Edinburgh. He teaches introduction to African Studies, studies in international literature, African literature, development of English drama, Restoration & 18th-Century literature, and 19th-Century English novel.

 

Peter Selgin
Peter Selgin
Associate Professor
M.F.A., Creative Writing, New School University
3-26 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-0963
peter.selgin@gcsu.edu
peterselgin.com
Professor Peter Selgin is the author of Drowning Lessons, winner of the 2007 Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction. He has written a novel, two books on the craft of fiction writing, an essay collection, and several children’s books that he illustrated. His novel, The Water Master, won the Faulkner-Wisdom Prize for the Novel, and his memoir-in-essays, Confessions of a Left-Handed Man, was a finalist for the William Saroyan International Prize. A visual artist as well as a writer, his work has been featured in The New Yorker and other publications. He is the art director of Arts & Letters.

 

Katie Simon
Katie Simon
Associate Professor
Ph.D, English, University of California, Berkeley
3-13 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5564
katie.simon@gcsu.edu
Dr. Katie Simon’s work focuses on issues of freedom and captivity in 19th-century American literature. Her book project is entitled "Something Akin to Freedom: Race, Space, and the Body in 19th-Century American Literature." Her work has appeared in ESQ: A Journal of Nineteenth-Century Literature and Culture; Eighteenth-Century Fiction; Women's Studies: An Inter-Disciplinary Journal and in Bad Subjects: Political Education for Everyday Life. She teaches courses such as American Literature to 1865, Critical Approaches to Literature, seminars in Thoreau and Melville, and a freshman seminar entitled Public and Collective Memory. She was awarded Georgia College's Excellence in Teaching Award in 2014.

 

John Sirmans
John Sirmans
Associate Professor
M.F.A., Creative Writing, Georgia College & State University
3-11 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5139
john.sirmans@gcsu.edu
Professor John Sirmans earned his M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Georgia College & State University. He teaches introduction to American literature, writing about literature, intermediate fiction writing, and first year composition practices.

 

Debora Stefani
Debora Stefani
Lecturer
Ph.D, English, Georgia State University
3-02 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-8692
debora.stefani@gcsu.edu
Dr. Debora Stefani earned her M.A. in English and German from Ca’Foscari University (Venice), and she graduated in 2012 with a Ph.D. in English from GSU.  She has worked at a community college, a research university, and at a technical school, before arriving at GCSU, where she teaches Freshman Composition and World Literature. When she is not busy preparing classes or grading, she focuses on her research. Her article "Fighting against Post-Colonial Optimism: In Search for Subaltern Agency in Vietnamese American Fiction" exemplifies her interest in ethnic and diasporic literature as well as in issues of sexuality, ethnicity, citizenship, and religion.

 

Graduate Assistants

 

Mikaela LaFave, mikaela.lafave@gcsu.edu
Calabria Turner, calabria.turner@gcsu.edu
 

Part-Time Lecturers

 

Kennith Baker, kennith.baker@gcsu.edu
Danielle Dicenzodanielle.dicenzo@gcsu.edu
Sandy Dimon, sandy.dimon@gcsu.edu
Jimmy Holder, james.holder@gcsu.edu
Shannon Skelton, shannon.skelton@gcsu.edu
Seth Tomko, seth.tomko@gcsu.edu
Julia Wagnerjulia.wagner@gcsu.edu
Jennifer Watkins, jennifer.watkins@gcsu.edu
Daniel Wilkinson, daniel.wilkinson@gcsu.edu
 

Teaching Fellows

 

Isabel Acevedo, isabel.acevedo@gcsu.edu
Brittany Barron, brittany.barron1@gcsu.edu
Pooja Desai, pooja.desai@gcsu.edu
Noah Devros, noah.devros@gcsu.edu
Kristie Johnson, kristie.johnson@gcsu.edu
Leah Kuenzi, leah.kuenzi@gcsu.edu
Abbie Lahmers, abbie.lahmers@gcsu.edu
Ryan Loveeachother, ryan.loveeachother@gcsu.edu
Alexandra McLaughlin, alexandra.mclaughlin@gcsu.edu
Ernestine Montoya, ernestine.montoya@gcsu.edu
Scarlett Peterson, scarlett.peterson@gcsu.edu
Andrew Schofield, andrew.schofield@gcsu.edu
Mark Sellers, mark.sellers@gcsu.edu
Faith Thompson, faith.thompson@gcsu.edu
 

The office for Graduate Assistants, Part-Time Faculty, and Teaching Fellows is:

1-53 Arts & Sciences Building, CBX 044